AJAX Concept‎ > ‎

Plasma control of aerodynamics

For realization of the aerocruise by hypersonic vehicle it is necessary to ensure the value of the aerodynamic quality (lift/drag ratio) K > 5. There is a need for practical implementation of the ideas that could help to optimize the flow-over hypersonic vehicle in order to enhance aerodynamic efficiency. Energy impact on the flow is to be used as the basis for creation of streamlining control systems (SCS). The functions of SCS should include:

  • drag reduction of aerodynamic elements of the vehicle; 
  • aerodynamic quality augmentation 
  • thermal loads reduction and aerodynamic characteristics of hypersonic vehicle control

To reduce or destroy a shock-wave front, the energy methods of streamlining control can use thermal effects arising from energy deposition into the air flow. It is also possible to create artificial plasma formations near the surface in order to change aerodynamic performance of hypersonic vehicle using plasma effects associated with non-linearity of characteristics of shock-waves propagation in plasma.

Artificially created spatial non-uniformities (in this case the irregularity during flow passage in the space near aerodynamic component is formed under the influence of specially created plasma sheath) have significant impact on the propagation and structure of the shock-waves. Preliminary assessments and experiments on the small wind tunnels bring us to the conclusion that impact of such irregularities has no significant dependence on the spatial dimensions of the impact domain, making it safe to assume that the proposed mechanism would be functional in a wide enough (in relation to low temperature plasma) range of pressures – from a few to hundreds of Torr. At the same time an important role in the shock wave passage through artificial plasma formation play the dispersive properties of low temperature gas-discharge plasma. Some useful for us results were obtained by the Russian and American researchers. Estimates show that at certain critical values of plasma parameters the shock wave changes its shape and its shock front begins to “blur” causing drag decrease of the aerodynamic component (or hypersonic vehicle as a whole) creating this shock wave.

Development of a system of controlling the aerodynamic characteristics is based on the following results:

  1. A physical model of the method has been developed of decreasing the drag of a hypersonic vehicle at the expense of the thermodynamic heating of the gas in front of the shock wave.
  2. The mechanism of such heating was proposed at the expense of direct-current discharge created in front of the streamlined body.
  3. Research of such a discharge have been undertaken which showed that it possesses a number of features that distinguish it from a dc discharge with dielectric walls. These features should be taken into consideration when designing real devices for flow ionization in front of hypersonic vehicle.
  4. The model of ionizer of hypersonic air flow has been developed that can be used when creating real device of flow ionization.
  5. Using this model we have measured the impact of the plasma presence upon the drag of the model object. The experimental results for static pressures corresponding to heights of about 40 km have shown the correctness of the main provisions of the developed technique. 22 ± 1 % of the drag reduction has been obtained at the power input ≈ 4 – 5 W/cm3 to the discharge.

Плазменное управление аэродинамикой

Для осуществления крейсерского полета ГЛА в атмосфере необходимо обеспечить величину аэродинамического качества К>5. Существует необходимость в практической реализации идей, с помощью которых можно бы было оптимизировать обтекание ГЛА с целью увеличения  аэродинамического качества. Энергетическое воздействие на поток предлагается использовать как основу создания систем управления обтеканием (СУО). В число функций СУО должны входить:

  • снижение лобового сопротивления аэродинамических элементов ГЛА;
  • повышение аэродинамического качества;
  • снижение тепловых нагрузок и управление аэродинамическими характеристиками ГЛА.

Энергетические методы управления обтеканием ГЛА могут использовать для ослабления или разрушения фронта ударной волны тепловые эффекты, возникающие при внесении энергии в воздушный поток. Возможно также создание искусственных плазменных образований вблизи поверхности для того, чтобы изменять аэродинамические характеристики ГЛА с использованием плазменных эффектов, связанных с нелинейностью характеристик распространения ударных волн в плазме.

Существенное влияние на распространение и структуру ударных волн оказывают искусственно создаваемые пространственные неоднородности (в нашем случае неоднородность при прохождении потока в пространстве около аэродинамического элемента образуется под воздействием специальным образом  создаваемой плазменной оболочки). Предварительные оценки и эксперименты на малых аэродинамических трубах позволяют сделать вывод, что влияние таких неоднородностей не очень существенно зависит от пространственных размеров области воздействия, что позволяет с уверенностью считать, что предлагаемый механизм будет работоспособен в достаточно широком (с точки зрения низкотемпературной плазмы)  диапазоне давлений от единиц до сотен Торр. Одновременно с этим важную роль при прохождении ударной волной искусственного плазменного образования играют и дисперсионные свойства низкотемпературной плазмы газового разряда. Отдельные  полезные для нас результаты в этой области получены российскими и американскими исследователями. Оценки показывают, что при определенных критических значениях параметров плазмы ударная волна изменяет свою форму и ее ударный фронт начинает "расплываться", что влечет за собой снижение лобового сопротивления аэродинамического элемента (или летательного аппарата как целого), создающего эту ударную волну.

Разработка системы управления аэродинамическими характеристиками базируется на  следующих результатах:

  1. Разработана физическая модель метода снижения лобового сопротивления ЛА за счет термодинамического разогрева газа перед фронтом ударной волны.

  2. Предложен механизм такого нагрева за счет  создания  перед  обтекаемым телом разряда постоянного тока.
  3. Проведены исследования такого разряда,  которые показали, что он имеет ряд особенностей, кардинально отличающих его от разряда постоянного тока с диэлектрическими стенками.  Эти особенности необходимо учитывать при конструировании реальных устройств ионизации потока перед ГЛА.
  4. Разработана модель ионизатора гиперзвукового воздушного потока,  которая  может быть использована при создании  реального устройства ионизации потока.
  5. С использованием этой модели проведены измерения влияния наличия плазмы на лобовое сопротивление модельного объекта.  Результаты  эксперимента  при статических давлениях,  соответствующих высотам около 40 км, показали правильность основных положений разработанной методики.  Получено  снижение  лобового сопротивления  на  (22±1)%  при мощности,  вкладываемой в разряд, порядка 4 - 5 Вт/см3